Chicken Tortilla Soup via Melinda

Sorry for no pic! I haven’t made this version yet, but a friend said its her favorite!

4 to 5 cooked chicken breast (I use a rotisserie chicken from the grocery)
2 10oz cans of Cream of Chicken Soup
chopped seasoning ( I buy it chopped and use maybe half the tub)
1 can chopped chilis (I put half the can cause my kids don’t like them)
1 block of Monterey Jack cheese
1 8oz Velvetta cheese
1/2 stick butter
4 tbls. flour
14oz chicken broth
2 cups of milk
1 pack of fajita seasoning

Saute seasoning in 1/2 stick of butter. Add all ingredients except for milk and flour. I add the cheese last so that I can make sure it all melts. Mix the flour in the milk and pour in. I let it cook after everything is added for about 30 minutes on a low fire. Stir often so cheese does not burn on bottom of pot. You can’t mess it up.

The tortilla strips:
I buy the round tortillas and cut them into strips. Fry them in oil until golden brown and salt them as soon as they come out of oil.

Add as garnish, tortilla strips, shredded cheese, guacamole and sour cream

Leave a Reply

