Scratch Wireless Review

1902804_10202530262551193_163706998_n

 

Okay, I am all about saving money so when we found Scratch Wireless I knew we HAD to look into it more. We now have two phones with them. So I thought I would tell you about my experience with them.
First the service is just what they say FREE! As long as you are connected to a WiFi network your talk, text and data is free. Text messages are ALWAYS free no matter what. They have “passes” you can purchase for talk or data when away from a WiFi network. They are $1.99 for a day pass and you can get either a talk or data pass that lasts one day before expiring. You can also purchase a month long pass of either for $14.99, of course you are fee to purchase both if you like.
The phone is a Motorola Photon Q. This is currently the only phone available, however they are looking to expand their selection. The phone is pricey at $269.00. BUT consider I left Boost Mobile at $55 a month for unlimited talk, text, and data so I spent $600 a year or so on cell service. I also caught them when they were having a sale on the phones so I didn’t pay full price. I had an HTC One with Boost ( I loved that phone).I have to say I am quite pleased with this new phone so far. It has some great features my other phone did not. It comes with 8 gig of memory in the phone itself and you can expand that with a micro SD card. So far great phone!
Service. Ok I am a stickler for customer service. I have to say, for a small company they have it going on. All customer service is through emails, but they are quick to respond and extremely helpful. Remember they are small and pretty new, like six employees so be patient (yea I stink at that part) with them.
I was able to port my number over. This process took WAY more time than it would normally. Again small company, but it was completed within the 10 day time frame they gave me. Also be aware that text messaging takes about 24 hours longer or so to port. Again patience!
They operate on the Sprint Network, so if Sprint is strong in your area the service will be great! Personally I use the text feature when not on my WiFi and connect to that at home. This is working quite well for me (don’t worry about missing calls! Calls go to voice mail and you get a message to your phone, you can then choose to wait, find WiFi or purchase a pass if you have to right from the Scratch App on your phone). The reason I am finding this to be so great for me is now when I am out I have no choice to be present in what I am doing. No distractions of the internet, phone ringing off the hook, Facebook checking temptations. Kind of a nice change of pace, one I know my hubby appreciates! LOL
I can say I really am pleased all around with this company. If you are looking to save money in this area I suggest you check them out!

  1. http://www.scratchwireless.com/

UPDATE: SADLY WE ARE SENDING OUR PHONES BACK. THE CALLS ON THE WIFI CUT OUT CONSTANTLY, THE PHONE STARTED JUST SHUTTING DOWN DURING CALLS, THE VIBRATION FEATURE ONLY WORKS WHEN IT WANTS TO. THEY STILL DO NOT HAVE MMS MESSAGES WORKING, BEEN PROMISING FOR A YEAR TO GET THAT GOING, NOT YET! SO SADLY WE ARE GOING BACK TO A TRADITIONAL COMPANY. THIS PHONE WOULD BE GREAT FOR TEENS!

2 thoughts on “Scratch Wireless Review

Leave a Reply

